OSHC – Why I’ve changed my thinking

I used to feel a bit sad for the children who were still at out of school hours care (OSHC), an hour or two after school finished. I would imagine their sad faces as other kids were picked up by mum, dad or granny and taken off home for snacks and games. My own children used to go to OSHC two or three times a week, depending on our hours. I always felt a bit guilty. That was before I was a teacher.

My classroom is next to the OSHC rooms. What I actually see is children playing outside with their friends after school, not cooped up in front of the TV or games console. I see them with their healthy snacks, playing on scooters or in the sandpit. They’re playing chasey and throwing balls around, spinning hula-hoops, laughing, getting out of breath and having a fun time. What they are doing is what people of my generation did after school. We played out. I wonder if OSHC kids are more active than other children? They definitely aren’t feeling sad.

About vanessa hiser

Primary and Secondary Educator; Academic Psychologist; Counsellor; mother; netballer; lifelong learner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

